My Blog

PLUS living not a death sentence….

Posted on: July 13, 2009

I remember the day that i was told that i was HIV+ as if it were yesterday…the first feeling was of numbness then fear then reassuring myself that i will live despite what my status were.I had seen my mum’s good friend circum to HIV and it was not a good site either.Those were the days when someone who was HIV+ was persived as a prostitute or either deserving to be punished by God for probably the acts that they have been doing…

I  saw mama Noni’s mouth move to one side and as a strong believer she really believed that God would not let her go down with this…o.k may be her husband deserved it or something but her?I don’t think so…This were the days that she would come to our house and my siblings and i would suddenly disappear to our bedrooms and most probably taking note of any utensils that she would use so that as soon as she left the house it would be disinfected by boiling them in hot water for over 2 hours or so… I figure it was still the days when Arv’s went for close to 100k those were the days.At times i think God makes different people cope with there issues differently…they coped differently and surprisingly most of them survived on the other hand we are coping differently and surprisingly we are surviving to unless one is not ready…

It has been a good almost 3 years and some months and i have not been down on any opportunistic infection leave alone the common T.B.God has been gracious to me and YES i owe it all to him…Though knowing my status has really made me a better person in ways that i can not explain…..a better mother,a better wife,a better sister,a better daughter,a better friend the list can not be exhausted..the sky has clearly become the limit for me.I would like to encourage all those outside there that are wondering what to do since they discovered there status that the sky should be the limit,you determine your own destiny and NEVER EVER let anything bring you down…

with lots of love to all you memebrs of + club…..

2 Responses to "PLUS living not a death sentence…."

Thank you Paul and Wambui looking forward to working with you in feature…..

This is good keep it up.

Leave a comment


  • None
  • gathoni wa gathoni: I totally agree with Jane Wesley when she says and i quote "HIV plus people are still loving and can also be loved and infact they need love now than
  • Jane Wesley: I totally agree with you on the importance of sex to all HIV positive people. HIV plus people are still loving and can also be loved and infact they n
  • Paul Kimumwe: Thanks tabby for this post. I think we also need to point out that it is still very important to use condoms during sex with the sexual partner -

Categories

Archives